GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION

Rajya Sabha STARRED QUESTION NO. : 10 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 18th July 2022

STATUS OF AIRPORTS IN PUNJAB

10. DR. ASHOK KUMAR MITTAL

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

- (a) the number of operational and non-operational airports in the country under the Airports Authority of India (AAI), State/UT-wise, particularly in Punjab;
- (b) whether Government/AAI has spent a large amount on the maintenance of non-operational airports during the last three years and the current year in the State of Punjab;
- (c) the steps taken by Government/AAI for revival of non-operational airports in Punjab;
- (d) the steps being taken by Government to start regular flight operations from Adampur airport; and
- (e) the details of criteria and norms fixed for safety audit of runways of operational and non-operational airports in the country?

ANSWER

Minister of CIVIL AVIATION (Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) to (e) of RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO. 10 FOR 18.07.2022 REGARDING "STATUS OF AIRPORTS IN PUNJAB".

(a): The list of operational and non-operational airports of the Airports Authority of India (AAI) is enclosed as Annexure.

- (b) and (c): All the five Airports/ Civil Enclaves managed by AAI in the State of Punjab at Amritsar, Ludhiana, Adampur, Bhatinda and Pathankot are operational.
- (d): As far as Adampur Civil Enclave is concerned, routes connecting Adampur with Delhi, Mumbai and Jaipur were awarded under Regional Connectivity Scheme of the Ministry of Civil Aviation. The 'Adampur-Delhi-Adampur' route has been discontinued after completion of 3 years tenure. The other two routes commenced by SpiceJet are still valid. However, the operations are presently on halt by the airlines due to the COVID pandemic and commercial issues. Moreover, after repeal of the Air Corporation Act in March 1994, the Indian domestic aviation market has been deregulated. Consequently, airlines are free to induct capacity with any aircraft type on markets and network they wish to operate based on traffic demand and commercial viability.
- (e): Adequate safety measures are already in place for ensuring safe operation of aircraft at airports in the country as per the International Civil Aviation Organization standards (ICAO) and Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) Requirements, as amended from time to time

Following safety measures have inter-alia been mandated by DGCA to ensure safety of the aircraft operations which include:

- (i) Mandatory provision of Runway End Safety Area and its periodic maintenance as per ICAO's requirements.
- (ii) Emphasis on regular maintenance of the runway strip to prevent the soil erosion.
- (iii) Mandatory friction testing at regular intervals.
- (iv) Instructions have been issued for the Pilot Monitoring to identify the subtle incapacitation of the pilot flying and procedure for taking over of the flight controls.
- (v) For enhancing the operational safety, instructions have been issued for encouraging crew to go-around, if for any reason, the approach is unstable and same is non-punitive.

(vi) Instructions have been issued for all the airline operators to establish the tailwind and cross wind limitation not only as per the limits as prescribed in their Airplane Flight Manual (AFM), but also operator needs to further establish the limits considering gusts during their crosswind/tailwind limits, wet and contaminated Runways, reduced visibility, Runways width, Pilot experience / feedbacks vis a vis operations to/from the specific airport. The same are to be based on proper safety risk assessment as per the Airlines Safety Management System (SMS).

Annexure to the reply to point (a) of Rajya Sabha Starred Q. No.10				
S. No.	STATE	Number of Operational Airports	Number of Non- Operational Airports	
1	A&N ISLAND	1		
2	ANDHRA PRADESH	5	1	
3	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	1	1	
4	ASSAM	7		
5	BIHAR	3	3	
6	CHANDIGARH	1		
7	CHHATTISGARH	1		
8	DAMAN & DIU	1		
9	DELHI	2		
10	GOA	1		
11	GUJARAT	10	1	
12	HIMACHAL PRADESH	3		
13	JAMMU & KASHMIR	2		
14	JHARKHAND	2	2	
15	KARNATAKA	5		
16	KERALA	2		
17	LADAKH	1		
18	LAKSHDWEEP ISLAND	1		
19	MADHYA PRADESH	5	3	
20	MAHARASHTRA	10		
21	MANIPUR	1		
22	MEGHALAYA	1	1	
23	MIZORAM	0	1	
24	NAGALAND	1		
25	ORISSA	2		
26	PUDUCHERRY	1		
27	PUNJAB	5		
28	RAJASTHAN	7		
29	SIKKIM	1		
30	TAMIL NADU	6	2	
31	TELANGANA	1	2	
32	TRIPURA	1	3	
33	UTTAR PRADESH	13	0	
34	UTTARAKHAND	2		

35	WEST BENGAL	4	3
	TOTAL	110	23
